Kat von D’s Saint & Sinner Perfumes- Review


Hi Everyone!

20170721_222114.jpgI received a complimentary VoxBox from Influenster Canada with samples of Kat Von D’s Saint and Sinner perfumes (the little bottles look like vials of poison). A full-size bottle of her perfumes retail for $88 CAD at Sephora (50mL). Apparently, Kat Von D had released these perfumes almost ten years ago and now she’s brought them back. I can definitely see why it was a cult favourite, I was pleasantly surprised by how good they smelled.I wrote a mini review on my Instagram already, but here are my thoughts on both perfumes after wearing them each for a day. Before I start my review, let me say that I have no idea what some of the scents below actually smell like, so I can’t tell you which notes that I can smell the most, but I will do my best. Also, my signature perfumes tend to be fruity or aquatic instead of floral (sometimes fruity and floral, but I like the fruity). Please keep this in mind (if you like vanilla scents, I think you’ll like SAINT, and if you like spicy, you’ll like SINNER). Let’s start off with the sweet:

SAINT20170721_230737

This is the description of Saint on Sephora’s website:

Fragrance Family: FloralScent Type: Classic Floral

Key Notes: Vanilla, Musk, Jasmine

About:
Meet Saint—soft, alluring, and dreamy, this gourmand fragrance sweetens a bouquet of jasmine and tiaré flower with notes of mandarin, caramel, and sparkling Mirabelle plum. Vanilla, sandalwood, and creamy musk build to the romance of the perfumeSaint shares the same floral soul as Sinner, with a sweet and gourmand twist. Different experiences, shared heart—these sister-scents can be worn alone or layered together.

Saint is a very sweet perfume, I can definitely smell the vanilla. For me, I think it’s a bit to sweet when I first put it on. After a few hours, it started to mix with my natural oils and maybe even started to rub off on my clothes, but I liked it better after it had been on for a few hours. Since it is a new scent to me, I could smell the perfume for a while after I put it on and you know how it goes…if you can smell yourself, then others can smell you more. I think I would put it on a few hours before I planned to go out, then it would be a subtler sweet and I’m not going to make anyone feel nauseous. I’ve always been iffy around certain vanilla scents because they are too sweet for me.

SINNER20170721_230745

This is the description of Sinner on the Sephora website:

Fragrance Family: Warm & Spicy

Scent Type: Cool Spices

Key Notes: Patchouli, Wood, Cinnamon

About:
Kat Von D Beauty’s most requested collection of all time is returning at last and better than ever. Meet Sinner—dark, sultry, and empowering, this enticing fragrance sweetens a bouquet of jasmine and orange blossom with notes of vanilla, mandarin, and Mirabelle plum. Spicy cinnamon envelops white florals at the heart of the fragrance, while base notes of vetiver, patchouli, and wood form the deeper, darker nuances. Experience confidence in a bottle; Sinner is the fragrant embodiment of the edgy, unapologetic, and outspoken Kat Von D we know and love.Sinner shares the same floral soul as Saint, with a bold, spicy twist. Different experiences, shared heart—these sister-scents can be worn alone or layered together.

This is quite a spicy perfume. As I said on Instagram, it’d be a great unisex perfume/cologne. I love spicy colognes. Similar to the Saint perfume, I preferred this perfume a few hours after I applied it. I tend to think that spicy perfumes always smell a bit masculine, but that’s just me. If you like a spicy perfume, go for it! I think spicy perfumes are good for a night out, but not as a signature everyday perfume. Currently, I have Giorgio Armani’s Acqua di Gioia. I would wear my Lady Gaga Fame perfume (which is unisex) when I went out clubbing with my friends.I tried layering the two together. I think I like the mix of the two, you get a bit of sweet and spicy. Since I got a sample, the bottles don’t spray, so it might be different for people who actually buy the full-size bottles. I put Saint on my wrist and then added some Sinner. The scent smelled sweet with a dash of spice, whereas when I put Sinner on first, the scent would be spicy with a dash of sweet. I don’t know if it will be different when you layer them by spraying, it might disperse the perfume more evenly and you get a perfect blend of both. I guess you could do two little sprays of one and a little spray of the other if you want to smell more sweet or more spicy.Notes: I’m not sure if I would buy Saint or Sinner, but I definitely recommend them to someone who likes the scents of either of the perfumes.

What are your favourite scents and signature perfumes?

Love,

20170502_020614 (2)

Follow me on Instagram, Pinterest, Facebook, Twitter & Bloglovin’.

Leave a Reply

