May Clothing Haul- Stores Closing!


Hello Everyone!

Earlier this month, I found out that several brands are closing their stores in Canada: BCBG Max Azria, bebe and Express!

LHL3B707_001.jpg
BCBG Max Azria Simone Textured Power Skirt

BCBG is a high-end retail chain that’s always had really pretty clothing and accessories, but expensive. I never bought that much from there, but it’s dear to my heart because it’s where I found my prom dress (It’s prom season right now! Read about my prom experience: here). Since BCBG Max Azria is the parent organization for Hervé Léger, I thought I would get a bandage skirt. I love the bandage dresses by Hervé Léger, but there’s no way I’d pay $1000+ for one of their bandage dresses…unless I were a millionaire. So I compromised by getting a bandage skirt by BCBG Max Azria. I got a black one in style Simone for less than $60! A while back, I bought a nude slip for $16 in an XS, so I thought I might be an XS, but after looking at how tiny it was, I thought it’d be best to go with a S because even though an XS might’ve fit, it would probably be hard to walk in. Even the S takes a bit of effort to get on since there is no zipper.

The dresses at bebe are really nice, but it’s rare that I have an occasion to need to buy a new dress and bebe’s price range is about $50-300 depending on how plain or embellished the clothes are. I had my eye on the bandage skirt from there and I was just waiting for the price to go down, but then I found the BCBG skirt for less than $60, so I decided to get that instead. The price did eventually go down, but it’s still more expensive than the BCBG one, and I think BCBG is better quality anyways.

I’ve always liked the Portofino shirts from Express and since the store closing sale was in effect, I thought I would take advantage. I bought two because of the BOGO 50% off sale, I would’ve loved to get more, but even with the sale, the shirts are kind of pricey. I spent nearly $150 CAD on just the two shirts and a high waist pleated mini skirt. But the store is closing, so it was worth it, especially since I wanted to get a pleated skirt and they had two different styles available. I got a Portofino shirt in black and one in white with black stripes and the skirt was also black. I love that the shirts can be casual or dressed up with a cute skirt/pants and heels for a night out or for work (just add a blazer and pencil skirt/ankle pants). They’re light enough that you can wear them on a summer night and easily layered with a jacket for fall or winter. I’ve always loved Express’ style, so I’m sad to see it go.

20170523_110310 (1)

The striped Portofino shirt and the black pleated skirt look really cute together. I think it’d be good for a sort of business casual look, and I paired them with my blue pumps by Louise et Cie for a splash of colour. If you’re going for a more business appropriate look, I would suggest getting the midi skirt because it passed your knees and it’s more professional. I think the black shirt would go well with it too, I was going to suggest a belt, but the satin look of the elastic sort of cuts the colour, you can just accessorize with a necklace/bracelet and a pair of coloured shoes to add a pop of colour. I’m wearing nude suede ankle strap pointed toe pumps from Call It Spring.

20170523_105843.jpgI also tried the skirt on with a chiffon material high neck top that has an embellished neckline that I got from Ardene and my Michael Kors Berkley T-Strap sandals which would look really cute for a party. Also, since it’s a mini skirt, I would be careful with the shoes you pair with the outfit, in my opinion, a platform shoe would look a bit slutty, so I think sticking to 4-inches or less without a platform is best. A pair of ballet flats or pointed toe pumps will look the best.

I’ve accessorized my outfits with my Boho Betty USA Erie Lake Double Wrap bracelet. Unfortunately, they don’t have it, but they have a Great Lakes Collection which has the Ontario Lake Double Wrap (black suede with clear bevelled rectangular mirror and round crystals) and Superior Lake Double Wrap (black suede with black bevelled rectangular mirror and round crystals) bracelets which pair with everything just as well as the white one (if not more)! Use my code JENCAT to get 20% off your purchase even when there’s a sale!

Love,

20170502_020614 (2)

Follow me on Instagram, Pinterest, Facebook, Twitter & Bloglovin’.

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

3 thoughts on “May Clothing Haul- Stores Closing!

Leave a Reply

