Going Back to School and Hootsuite Certification


Hi Everyone!

Recently, I’ve been considering going back to school. I have a BA, but going to college for social media marketing would help me when I apply for jobs. I have a degree in Communications, but the communications that I have a degree in isn’t exactly the kind that social media, communications and PR companies are looking for. At my university, we studied media history, communication history, visual communication and global communication. We didn’t learn social media strategies or digital marketing, advertising and brand strategy or SEO (search engine optimization). This, of course, is the type of communications that I want to find a job in and therefore I figured my only option was to go back to school.

After looking up colleges and the programs they offer, I was searching “social media certification” when I found that Hootsuite offers a Social Media Marketing course and certificate. The course was free and you pay $199 USD to take the exam and get certified. I thought that maybe getting certified through Hootsuite mighootsuiteht be able to fast-track finding a job in social media/communications. I had been looking into going back to school for a while, but hadn’t registered yet and the courses were starting soon. I needed to be ready to learn and I wasn’t in the frame of mind to start school so soon. Even though many people say that college is like high school, it’s been almost two years since I graduated from university. The classes I was looking at were night classes (3 hours long). I know it would be different from the 3 hour lectures from university, but I still cringed at the thought of going back to school in less than 2 weeks (classes started Jan 10th and it was a few days after Christmas).

So, I thought about it and devised a plan: I would get this Social Media Marketing certificate from Hootsuite and also get the Hootsuite Platform Certificate (which I will talk about below), apply for jobs and see what happens. In the meantime, I also plan to find some volunteer work (maybe I can find an organization in need of help with their social media accounts). If the job hunt is unsuccessful, then I would at least be volunteering and I can apply for courses starting in May.

I took the free lessons for the Hootsuite Social Media Marketing Certificate. You pay a one-time fee of $199 USD (meaning that you can take the exam multiple times without paying again). The Social Media Marketing lessons took me a few days since there were more lessons. The exam consists of 60 questions in 60 minutes and you need an 80% to pass. I used the code “GETCERTIFIED50” to get 50% off the Social Media Marketing Certificate and only paid $99 USD. You have until January 31, 2017 to do the same!

In addition to Hootsuite’s Social Media Marketing certificate, I found that a lot of job postings have the Hootsuite Platform Certification as a qualification or an asset. I never used Hootsuite, but given that I want to find a job in social media, the certification is an obvious asset. So, I decided to take the free lessons for the Hootsuite Platform Certificate. It took me a few hours to complete the course (others may find it best to do stretch it out and take a few days to do the lessons).

The lessons consist of an overview of what you’ll learn, videos (about 2-5 mins each) and quizzes based on the videos. The Hootsuite Certification exam is 65 questions and you have 75 minutes to complete it. You need a 60% to pass in order to get the certification and similar to the social media marketing exam, you pay a one-time fee. For this exam, you pay $99 USD.

Once certified, you can link your certificate to your LinkedIn account and also download a PDF.

-JenCat

Follow me on Instagram, Pinterest, Facebook, Twitter & Bloglovin’.

 

Leave a Reply

