Taking Up Calligraphy


Disclaimer: I am new to Calligraphy, so I apologize if I use the wrong terminology at any point.

Whenever I’m on Instagram, I always come across videos of people doing calligraphy and I always think, “I wish I could do that.” It will also give me a chance to improve my penmanship. People have said that my writing is neat, but I find that it changes a lot depending on what type of pen I’m using. Plus, with C and DW’s wedding coming up, I was just thinking about thank you cards and invitations and it’d be nice to have mastered script calligraphy for whenever I get married.

So, I went to Michael’s with KN and looked at the different calligraphy sets they offered. I ended up choosing a Manuscript Beginners set that had an instruction booklet, some paper and a tin with three pens, five different nibs, 10 black, 2 blue, 2 sepia, 2 red and 2 green ink cartridges. The others were in plastic boxes and I thought this would be more organized. I had a 40% off one item, so I got the set for less than $30 (normal price $45).

If you’re a calligrapher, and you have any tips or tricks, please do contact me, I would appreciate any help I can get! ๐Ÿ™‚

IMG_20160719_161401.jpg

I’ll keep my Instagram and blog updated on my progress. I’m pretty good at doing regular writing with serifs. I haven’t yet gotten used to doing script yet, but I still remember my calligraphy lessons from grade 8 from art class. Of course, I want to work on a fancier version of what we were taught back then.

-JenCat

Leave a Reply

