JenCat’s Skincare Routine


**Clinique Acne Solutions Cleansing Gel, facial cleansing pad from Forever21, Facial Cleansing Brush from Sephora, The Face Shop’s Herb Day Cleanser and Phyto Charcoal Cleanser and the foaming net are all on JenCat’s Beauty Recommendations list!

ALE.pngRecently, I’ve noticed that my skin has been clearer and I would like to credit my skincare routine as the reason. For university, I moved to a smaller city where I noticed my face tended to be clearer, there could be a number of reasons for this: less pollution from cars or perhaps because I didn’t have the time to pick and squeeze zits and blackheads (gross, I know! And I know you’re not supposed to pick at zits or blackheads, but I do it anyways). If I had a before and after picture, I would post it, however since I don’t have a before pic, there’s no use taking a picture now.

Now, I know I shouldn’t complain, I’ve never had really bad acne like some people do, but I always had my problem areas: forehead, chin, upper lip. While on Pinterest, I found a chart that showed reasons for certain acne, i.e. chin is hormonal, while other areas pertain to the liver, kidneys, etc.

My acne was pretty bad in high school, so I got a prescription for an acne cream from my doctor that had benzoyl peroxide. It worked on the problem areas, but it dried out my skin pretty bad, so I didn’t use it all that often. All the skincare products I’ve used since then have salicylic acid (which doesn’t dry your skin out as much) instead of benzoyl peroxide. Although the spot treatment creams that come in the kits I’ve bought have benzoyl peroxide. Since I have sensitive skin, benzoyl peroxide is best for me to only use for spot treatments for particularly pesky zits. I’ve also tried Proactiv, which worked for the first month, but then started drying my skin too. When I called to cancel my shipments, the rep suggested I try the gentle formula, so I did for a month. I decided to cancel the shipments because even the gentle formula started to dry my face and it wasn’t worth the monthly cost. I know I could buy them whenever I need from those carts, but I think my skin got used to the formula and stopped working. Proactiv works for a lot of people and I don’t want to discourage anyone from using it- I just have very sensitive skin.

I got a sample of the Murad Clarifying Cleanser from Sephora once and noticed a difference, so I bought the 30-Day Acne Starter Kit. I’m not sure how well it worked because I would still get hormonal breakouts around that time of the month. Also, the Oil-Control Matifier smells like school glue. Once I used it up, I went onto Sephora to find a new acne clarifying gel/cleanser. After some searching, I landed on the reasonably priced Clinique Acne Solutions Cleansing Gel. This cleansing gel, in combination with my daily shower routine has made my skin the clearest it has ever been. It is also one of the few cleansers that doesn’t have a strong chemical scent.

My daily shower routine consists of using the Clinique Cleansing Gel with a facial cleansing pad that I got from Forever21. Then, as I’ve said in this previous post, I alternate between using the Spearmint Cleanser and the Charcoal Cleanser. I use the foaming net with the Spearmint Cleanser and I use a facial cleansing brush from Sephora with the Charcoal Cleanser. The facial brush is super soft, but one critique I have is that it doesn’t have a grip so it slides out of my hand (to remedy the situation, I wrapped a small elastic band around it for grip). Although it doesn’t have a grip, it’s a good price and you can just do what I did or add some grip with a glue gun.

In addition to my daily skin care routine, I will use a charcoal sheet mask or other face mask every couple weeks to keep my skin feel refreshed and detoxify.

-JenCat

Follow me on Instagram, Pinterest, Facebook, Twitter & Bloglovin’.

 

Leave a Reply

