Rom Coms vs. Action Movies


(spoilers for Pirates of the Caribbean: At World’s End)

I think action movies/thrillers are my favourite genre to watch. I like a good romantic comedy, comedy or drama now and then, but I think if I were given the choice, I would choose action-packed over the others. I’ve always preferred to see movies in theatres that are action-packed, although if my friends want to see a comedy, I will join them if I think it will be good. In my opinion, it’s so much cooler to see action and explosions on the big screen than see a couple break up, and then 30 minutes later, they realize they should’ve been together all along. I would never drag a male friend or boyfriend to see Mother’s Day instead of Captain America: Civil War because I would much rather see Captain America fighting Iron Man. Plus, if a rom com makes me cry, I’d rather do that in the privacy of my own home than in a theatre full of people. However, I have cried watching some movies that were action/fantasy: Pirates of the Caribbean: At World’s End (what happened to Will- C and I didn’t know there was a post-credits scene) and I think Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1 and/or 2 (the multiple deaths in the movies).

I’ve never been a girly girl, but I’m not a tom boy either. I would say I’m somewhere in between the two since I am okay with getting dirt on my hands, but not very outdoorsy and I’m definitely not athletic (although I’m not bad at volleyball, ultimate frisbee or badminton- the typical sport that all Asians seem to be good at). Although I do love to dress up, wear makeup and look at stuff pertaining to weddings, I would never be able to identify flowers (except for the common ones) just by looking at them.

When I was little, I liked going to the schoolyard and playing sports with D. M always said that I was like the son my dad never had because I would watch Star Wars with him or play sports. To this day, I’m still a Daddy’s girl- although we don’t play sports, we’ll watch movies and shows together that M doesn’t care to watch like Agents of SHIELD, Nikita, Continuum, and Alias.

-JenCat

Follow me on Instagram, Pinterest, Facebook, Twitter & Bloglovin’.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

