DIY death star


IMG_20160504_182812.jpg
Death Star with an origami X-Wing Fighter and R2D2 keychain

I made this homemade death star for D for Christmas last year. It’s fun to get creative for Christmas time especially for my dad because he loves all the popular franchises like Harry Potter, Star Wars, and Lord of the Rings. Since the new Star Wars movie came out last year, C and I bought him tickets to see it in UltraAVX 3D and I bought the Star Wars: The Force Awakens (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) CD on Amazon- old school I know, but we still have a working CD player that D uses when he’s on the elliptical. I wanted to do something creative like I did last year- Harry Potter. C and I like to do themes for M and D’s presents.

If I had started my blog last year, I would’ve taken step by step pictures to show you how I did it, but it’s pretty easy and you can use your own imagination. Since there weren’t a lot of pictures of the new death star when I started this project, I used the Star Wars posters and my imagination. It’s a bit hard to explain what I did without making it too confusing, but it’s pretty easy to understand if you look at the picture and you can always alter it to how you want. Here’s all you need to make your own death star (all of which I bought are from the dollar store):

  • a spherical object (I used a globe because I knew D would display it, and the globe came with a plastic stand)
  • black and white paint mixed to make gray
  • blue paint
  • red paint
  • paintbrushes
  • silver metallic marker
  • masking tape

I was able to take the globe out of the stand so I could paint it. The globe was covered in plastic with the map of the world which I was able to take off. Once I took the plastic off, I found that the globe could come apart (so now I had two domes) and I could put a present inside. I covered the two domes in masking tape, about an inch from the middle. I painted the middle sections in gray paint and once it was dry, I painted the other side in dark gray mixed with some blue paint. Next, I painted the rest in black and red and added silver in marker. I put the movie tickets inside and put the globe back together and in the stand for D to open on Christmas. I also made an origami X-Wing fighter which I found the directions for online and I bought an R2D2 key chain from Claire’s.

-JenCat

One comment

Leave a Reply

